Character Education – What to Know

The Character Education program at Fonda-Fultonville Middle School is based on the Six Pillars of Learning: respect, caring, fairness, trustworthiness, responsibility, and citizenship.  As students have increased their awareness in these six key areas, we have seen positive growth in students as individuals and as members of our school community.

In addition, we have introduced a series of videos that highlight the district’s Brave Traits. You can access those videos here:


  • Be honest
  • Don’t deceive, cheat or steal
  • Be reliable – do what you say you’ll do
  • Have the courage to do the right thing
  • Build a good reputation
  • Be loyal – stand by your family, friends and country


  • Treat others with respect; follow the Golden Rule
  • Be tolerant of differences
  • Use good manners, not bad language
  • Be considerate of the feelings of others
  • Don’t threaten, hit or hurt anyone
  • Deal peacefully with anger, insults and disagreements


  • Do what you are supposed to do
  • Persevere: keep on trying!
  • Always do your best
  • Use self-control
  • Be self-disciplined
  • Think before you act – consider the consequences
  • Be accountable for your choices


  • Do your share to make your school and community better
  • Cooperate
  • Get involved in community affairs
  • Stay informed; vote
  • Be a good neighbor
  • Obey laws and rules
  • Respect authority
  • Protect the environment


  • Play by the rules
  • Take turns and share
  • Be open-minded; listen to others
  • Don’t take advantage of others
  • Don’t blame others carelessly


  • Be kind
  • Be compassionate and show you care
  • Express gratitude
  • Forgive others
  • Help people in need

    To learn more about the Character Counts! program, go to